Archinect
anchor

B.Arch at Sci-arc: experimental vs traditional? Pros vs cons?

Pseoh

Hello, I’m a highschool student planning on studying architecture in university(I’m quite interested in Sci-Arc). On their website, they said their purpose is to approach “architecture from a more experimental than traditional school.” What does this really mean? Also, what are the pros and cons of attending sci arc?

Jun 5, 20 11:15 am
thisisnotmyname

Can your parents pay the $80,000.00 per year cost of SciArch?   Do not take out large loans for this or any other architecture school.

Jun 5, 20 2:01 pm  · 
2  · 
Non Sequitur

People actually take loans for this?

Jun 5, 20 5:34 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Yes, I have some individuals that work with me, who have student loans of nearly $ 300,000. They make about 70k per year, which in a place like LA is nothing at all.

Jun 5, 20 8:38 pm  · 
 · 
proto

I didn't go to SciArc but there are some here who have and maybe they can chime in.

While that finance-first reaction above is one to consider, I'm not sure what purpose it has here as a response to your question since it doesn't have much to do with what you asked.

Traditional approach just refers to the generally recognized manner in which architectural design is taught (studio environment + addressing conventional project types (office buildings, civic buildings, schools, etc) directly as buildings).

SciArc was founded by people who saw a more exploratory and experimental vein of discovery through any number of researches (artistic, scientific, digital non-gravity design responses as websites, or even buildings that don't necessarily look like anything you might inhabit), most with a dose of artistic license that provokes theoretical consideration of whatever the design problem may be. It's a pretty loose description, but it is purposeful to allowing the boundaries of architecture to be reconsidered.

(I hope that helps you understand a bit of the flavor of what they intend)