Archinect
anchor

AA Emtech vs. Bartlett's MSc in Architectural Computation

LefKour

Hello everyone. I have recently been admitted to both AA's Emtech program (MSc) and Bartlett's MSc in Architectural Computation and accepted the offer of AA.

As of my background, I hold a Diploma in Architectural Engineering equivalent to a Level 7 Degree.Through the postgraduate degree, I would like to delve deeper in the field of computational deisgn and digital fabrication and hopefully work as a researcher, an experimental architect or work in a firm's R&D department The reason that I chose AA was that I was offered a bursary, significantly reducing the cost of studying there, and the I thought that Emtech is more closely correlated with digital fabrication.

I noticed that I could defer the admission of Bartlett and pursue a second postgraduate degree in Architectural Computation after completing Emtech. Apart from that, I was thinking about doing an M.Arch. and follow the itinerary of a RIBA/ARB license.

Do you think that a second MSc in Architectural Computation is overkill, excessive or a waste of money and time? Does Emtech cover topics taught in Architectural Computation? Is there any overlap? Also, would pursuing a PhD in Computation a better option? Apart from that, is in my case M.Arch. RIBA part II  degree of any use towards the direction that I would like to head in my career?

I would love to know your opinion on these questions, especially if you have insight on the two programms I mentioned. 

May 30, 20 6:28 pm
TED