Archinect
anchor

Architecture Study with minimal CAD

Jaetten

Hallo!

I am currently studying my Part 1 RIBA / ARB B.Arch, I already had a Interior degree prior to this one. In my current career I spend a lot of time on visualisation, and might be teaching CAD in the near future at another Uni, too. 

My question stems from the fact I have spent years using CAD, causing me to neglect hand drawing. As I am now studying alongside employment, I would like to forgo CAD as much as permissible and focus on my hand drawing (photoshop is an exception for adding colour etc). 

The hand drawing I have done to date on this course has been incredibly enjoyable and oddly therapeutic. I'm off the "messy lines" type.

I need to confirm the extent that CAD is required with my tutors, but should I go for it if I can keep cad to a minimum? 

How do people, especially tutors, perceive hand drawn visuals compared to 'shiny' CAD?

May 24, 20 8:08 am
kenchiku

Every tutor I know would prefer hand drawn over CAD (assuming the necessary information is still being communicated in the hand drawing). The thing about hand drawing is it leaves an air of 'unfinishedness' to a drawing which allows for reviewers/tutors to dive in my readily. CAD and photorealistic renders have an air of completeness to them...as if the exploration has ended and thus, seems to stagnate review conversations a bit more.

Another option is to hand draw your working iterations of a detail and then perhaps have CAD as the 'final' version and present them as a set. Have seen colleagues do this and the conversation always naturally flows to hand drawing done right before switching to CAD.