Archinect
anchor

B.A Psychology/ M.Arch/ DDes??

archi_net

Hi everyone. Here's my story... 

I am a first-generation college student. I grew up most of my life struggling in the educational system due to language barriers. One thing I always valued is education and the power it has to change the world. 

I have a strong interest in research and digital fabrication. As well as political issues that affects society. In a perfect world, I would like to combine my two careers to one. Architecture and psychology. 

I have a B.A in psychology and currently attending a 3 year M.Arch program. Currently at the end of my 2nd year. 

Through my time in grad school, it's been really challenging being able to leap into a new field, not knowing much about. Although I always gave it my 100% my personal limitations prevented me to get the best grades possible. Such as software knowledge, public speaking, and time management. 

Currently, entering my final year going into thesis, I feel much more confident and able to express my creativity. I have been also actively working towards improving all my skills and learn new softwares on my own time. 

As for my career experience, I've only had one internship I completed  last summer. During my time at the firm, I felt really inspired to keep going and really enjoyed the time I spent learning. I am hopeful to continue to intern this summer and keep improving. 

One of my goals since I can remember was to always reach a high level in education such as getting my doctorate. Although I did not have a clear idea of what, I've been lately looking at Phd programs in architecture.

My interest in research include applying psychology, architecture, and sustainability to better design for world issues.