Archinect
anchor

Undergraduate looking to apply for M.Arch

David.Feng

Hey guys. I am currently an undergraduate student studying a non-professional degree. However, I'm still interested in applying to three-year architecture programs in the United States for a M.Arch upon graduation. 

As a student who has limited experience to this field and application process, does any one have any advice for those who are applying to M.Arch programs without prior education in architecture? 

It would be great to hear your thoughts on how to approach coursework choices, gaining exposure to the field, and creating a portfolio and application that is competitive with applicants who have had prior training. 

Thank you. 

May 16, 20 11:16 am
archeyarch

there are decades of answers on this website to your question

May 16, 20 4:49 pm  · 
3  · 
ODMA

Hi David,

What's your undergraduate degree in?

It can be quite daunting to find a way in to a discipline you know you are interested in. I remember being in school and receiving terrible guidance from my Careers Counselor on the choices of courses I should take in school to study architecture. Was disastrous and really damaged my application process: he recommend that I study technical drawing over art.