Archinect
anchor

which university has the better undergrad architecture program UBC or Carleton?

Naaaaaaa

Hello, 

I am currently an international architecture student at Carleton University. (just finished 1st year) and I am not sure if I should continue studying architecture at Carleton or transfer to UBC architecture program which I just accepted(to 2nd yr) Does anyone know what UBC arch program look like? 

Carleton

Pros

-has sustainability stream (but if I chose this stream i have to take 3 yrs master program instead of 2 yrs)

-has SIM lab

-already attending a year so getting use to it and friends

Cons

-not satisfying this program 100% (but this is maybe because I only just finished first year and haven't had more architectural classes)

-bad weather, quiet city (little boring)

UBC

Pros

-higher rank (I know rank is not everything but maybe they have more fun/ interesting classes and job option?)

-their program called "Bachelor of Design in Architecture, Landscape Architecture, and Urbanism" so I believe they cover sustainable aspect as well (maybe equivalent to Carleton sustainable stream)

-can take 2yrs master instead of 3

-I love nature so better place to live than Ottawa, and better weather 

Cons

-higher $$$

-new environment

Its being a really hard decision for me.  Any info will be really helpful!

Thanks!

May 13, 20 11:35 am
Non Sequitur

Carleton, once, had a very strong undergrad program.  This is not the case anymore since they split it into 3 diff streams and had years without a real director.  With that said, CIMS is a great resource plus the university is much smaller (and compact) than UBC.