Archinect
anchor

Undergraduate Programs: Cal Poly SLO or UC Berkeley (HELP!)

Jsomoza1

Hello! I am a recent high school graduate and a SLO local. I was lucky enough to be admitted to Cal Poly's B.Arch program and Berkeley's unaccredited Architecture program that leads to a B.A., which I have decided I would definitely pursue a M.Arch after completing my undergraduate degree (if all goes accordingly). I recently saw a similar thread of a student in the same exact position as me, but I have a few of my own questions and I would appreciate anybody's perspective on the topic. I have never been exposed to the industry directly and I am quite ignorant to the realities of the field as I am just a high school student.

Which program will have the best ROI and future job opportunities? If I am committed to pursuing higher education on the Berkeley path, is that better looked at than Cal Poly's B.Arch on the employer's side? Is it actually as common as they say for Berkeley students to get into top M.Arch programs? Lastly, I was looking at survey responses from students who have already graduated from these programs, and it seems that Cal Poly grads don't get accepted into the same top graduate programs as Berkeley grads. Why is that if Cal Poly's program is much more revered?

Thank you so much if you read through all of that! I would appreciate ANY insight from professionals in the field. I have been researching non-stop ever since I found out, but I am still unable to come to a decision.

Apr 22, 20 9:44 pm
Haha Hadude

I wish students would stop trying to decide based on "revere" which likely means rankings.. every ranking list is different.

for example: https://www.topuniversities.com/university-rankings/university-subject-rankings/2020/architecture

https://www.di-rankings.com/most-admired-schools-architecture/

https://www.niche.com/colleges/search/best-colleges-for-architecture/