Archinect
anchor

BArch Degree Advice

tbossgoericke

Hello all!

Wondering if anyone may have some advice, recommendations on Architecture Tech degree programs in NY state vs any Arch colleges in the New England area.

Currently, I'm a sophomore at a long island community college finishing my AAS in Arch Tech. Couple things I'm trying to figure out, keeping in mind cost, location, quality of education, as well, if I can continue to work full time, or at least still part-time. (I work full-time now for a high end Hamptons construction company.)

Also,

My fiance and I have been considering moving away from the rush of the Hamptons and have been looking up in New England. Depending on if there are any contending architecture colleges, I would definitely be looking into if they offer discounts for state residents and moving away to complete my degree. Just a matter of if there's any architects/builders in the vicinity to work for. Thankfully, my fiance works from home so he is at my whim ;)

Main question, which I think I know the answer too:

1- Depending on if all my classes transfer, should I complete my AAS or just transfer else wheres to start completing my BArch?

(I spoke with admissions for City who advised to complete my ASS prior to transferring. Only one class wouldn't transfer apparently (Tech Physics).

My considerations as of now,

City College of NY

+The tuition cost for being a NY resident is unbeatable

+Based on reading other forums, the arch program seems to be better than other NY colleges.

-The first 3 years according to admissions would be impossible to work full-time, as the classes are structured mon-thur all day classes.

-Distance, I would have to live part-time in the city which I'm not a fan of.

NYIT (Westbury)

+LOCATION (still a 2 hour drive in rush hour traffic from the hamptons)

+Tuition cost for NY resident and SUNY school