Archinect
anchor

Architecture School: Am I gaming the system?

stone_foundation

The basis of this post is to inquire about what one should be doing in architecture school and if success in school means anything once one steps beyond it.

I'm a good student and attend a respected school in the US. Inquisitive, test the boundaries, explore and question with my projects. Take design criteria and project briefs with a grain of salt and pursue what I'm interested in and what the project seems to want to be about. My projects turn out well and generate good critical discussions. I work hard, but keep a strict schedule and never come close to pulling all nighters.

However, some of my friends and peers produce what I think are, phenomenal projects. They work their asses off, staying behind well after I finish for the day. Their drawings are gorgeous and from my point of view they are much better students than I. Their work is a constant source of inspiration and it seems they should be doing far better in school than myself.

But then we get together and discuss marks and how crits went. They consistently seem to get lower marks and have less enthusiastic critiques. If you put our projects on a wall next to each other, surely nearly everyone would gravitate towards one of theirs. They tick all the boxes on the assignment briefs and do so with stunning work. In the end, why am I getting the better feedback? Is my methodology of taking everything with a grain of salt and pursuing what I'm interested in instead of what the brief says actually what we're supposed to be doing in school?  I honestly feel like I'm cheating somehow and my talented peers are going unrecognized for their work. Is what I'm doing going to even benefit my future career? Or am I just gaming some imaginary architecture school world and very soon will crash hard on my face once I set out after graduation?