Archinect
anchor

USC or Cal Poly Pomona? MArch 1 program

JACKO

Hi everyone,

I just got two offers from USC and Cal Poly Pomona. The program I applied for is MASTER OF ARCHITECTURE:FIRST-PROFESSIONAL. My undergraduate degree is Business Administration. I'm from a low income family. Although USC gives me $10,000 scholarship every year, I still need to borrow $150,000 totally. Should I borrow that much debts for USC? If it's a lot easier to get a job as a USC student, I would like to invest. For Cal Poly Pomona, the tuition is only $7000 per year. It's the most affordable program for me. However, I'm not sure if students from Cal Poly Pomona have same opportunities as the USC students. I may move to a different country in the future but mostly I'll stay in LA. Is the MArch program 1 from Cal Poly Pomona well known as the USC MArch Program countrywide and/or worldwide? I'm a fan of Elon Musk. Besides making money for living and raising children, I hope I might work on some meaningful design for human future one day. I really appreciate for your advice.

Apr 10, 20 2:23 pm

Thanks for the post!

We'd be better able to help you if there was a specific question you had about the programs. In regards to your question on whether or not you should borrow money for your education, it'll really be up to you, everyone has their own philosophy on student loans. 

If your end goal is to be a licensed architect, both of these schools can set you on a path since they are NAAB accredited degrees. Do you want to study in Sourthern California? There is also Sci-Arc and Woodbury to consider as well. Both NAAB accredited schools relatively in the same area as CalPoly Pomona and USC.

Apr 10, 20 3:32 pm  · 
 · 
spark88