Archinect
anchor

UMICH VS PRATT M.ARCH 2year fall’2020

nikshithreddy

hello, 

I am an international student and have been accepted to the ‘2-year M.ARCH’ programs at Michigan, Pratt, USC and Sci-Arc. (Money is not a concern) 

I know there are a lot of threads on Michigan and Pratt and I’m still very unsure whether I need to pick ‘Michigan’ or ‘New York’,as the city and it’s influence definitely have an impact on pedagogy. I am definitely leaning towards choosing Michigan or Pratt and I hope I could receive help through this forum on informing my decision better and answering my questions- 

1. I am very keen on Pratt and Michigan of those acceptances. As Pratt being in NYC, I believe has an edge in terms of learning and also the job factor and the overall experience might be more engaging in a fast paced and packed schedule. Also Pratt has ‘Starchitect’ sort of work and their portfolios seem more appealing than Michigan students in terms of complexity. On the other hand michigan offers a wholesome university experience, with options to do certifications in real estate and the FAB LAB facilities stand out.

2. how hard/ easy is it to land a job as an architect on graduation? Does Michigan’s degree get an edge? I intend to work in NYC and cannot sacrifice that for anything else.

3. How employable are graduates from both places? 

4. Pros and cons of choosing Pratt institute? 

It would really help me with this discussion as I would need to affirm my place to study in the next few days. Also any insights on USC and sci-arc would also be welcome. Thank you in advance

Mar 31, 20 7:21 pm
Laurila