Archinect
anchor

ITECH Germany or keep working in the states?

mengxihe1

Hi all,

I just got into ITECH U of Stuttgart, and want to decide if I should go this year.

I graduated May 2019 B. arch in the States and currently working right now. I am an international student and am currently on a visa. I'm facing two choices now, go to grad school in Germany or keep working in the states for a year or two.

I only applied to this one school this year. I know i would want to specialize in digital fabrication, computation and I would want to go to grad school. I wonder if I should go now or get more work experience in the states and apply for more schools? does anyone has insights? 

Mar 26, 20 9:02 pm
mengxihe1

no one? 

Mar 29, 20 11:03 pm  · 
 · 
justavisual

Where can you work long term? Best to go to the market you can work in and get the experience/school there...not keep pumping time into experience in a place you're gonna end up leaving anyway.

Mar 30, 20 5:47 am  · 
 · 
mengxihe1

Hi justavisual, thank you for your reply, I think that's a really good point, I don't see myself working in traditional architecture firms, I want to work in computational design and digital fabrication research. I really like the direction of ITECH, I'm hesitant because I am an international student and if I choose to leave the States for Europe it will be hard to come back. To be honest, I'm not sure which location is better for the subject. Do you have any insights about this area in either locations? Also I'd really appreciate if you can share your knowledge about ITECH? Thank you!

Apr 1, 20 12:53 am  · 
 · 
justavisual