Archinect
anchor

M.Arch portfolio review

Ikoz

Hey all! Like lots of others I've been doing up my folio for masters applications for Autumn 2020. I've already applied to a few places so this is a little late but I still have a few to go (Aarhus, PoliMi, KADK, Berlin tech (?)) so I'd love a critique of my portfolio).

https://issuu.com/inezkoz/docs/portfolio_final_undergrad_2020_issuu

I posted a thread earlier but if anyone has any first hand experience at any of these schools, I'd love to hear it. It's a little hard to travel out from Australia for a casual tour.

Thanks in advance!

Jan 28, 20 1:22 am
White_Snowman

Man that's the angriest library design I've seen. Post-Colonial, White Supremacist, and Patriarchal dismantled by two buildings with a basement in-between. What'll they think of next?

The design is nice and the portfolio is coherent with a pleasant color palette and flow. I like the modeling shown in some of the examples. I think that goes a long way in showing that you can take something from an idea in your head to something that's out in the world.

Jan 28, 20 2:01 am  · 
 · 
lmnoc1

Calling a mediocre design White supremacist is an overreach. You don't want to label just anyone as malicious and normalize such act when some of our lives are threatened by actual white supremacists in real life

Jan 30, 20 1:37 pm  · 
 · 
Archlandia

Imnoc1 - Did you read the portfolio?

Jan 30, 20 2:27 pm  · 
 · 
Ikoz

Yes White_Snowman I had one of those very out there studio leaders who spurred me on- it was originally going to be a library to facilitate and focus on minority groups and provide a safe space. Having said that I did enjoy designing it! I am wondering however whether to change the first text paragraph as we were required to write a loud manifesto for the library and I am aware that it comes off a little strong. Thoughts on this?

But thank you for your comments re. the layout!

Feb 6, 20 1:53 am  · 
 · 
Archlandia

Just quickly scanning through-