Archinect
anchor

designing a two dimensional space

ediej

Hi everyone, I am working on my application to cooper union for architecture -- I don't really know a whole lot about architecture and have been doing a lot of research but one of the prompts is:

Compose a two-dimensional space with selections from the following elements: POINTS LINES PLANES

Use ONE of the following organizational concepts: BLUR INTERSECTION EXPANSION REFLECTION 

I mostly I am having trouble with what the organizational concepts are referring to, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Jan 26, 20 8:32 pm
White_Snowman

Are these two different prompts or are you creating a two-dimensional space and also using one of the organizational concepts?

The first one sounds like they're asking for a floor plan or the design for an outdoor environment. The second sounds like it's cueing you for some sort of design element within the overall plan.

I'm new to this stuff too, but that'd be my takeaway if it were mine to do.

Jan 27, 20 1:25 am  · 
 · 
ediej

its all one prompt, but that is true the outdoor environment might be what they are asking for, thank you!

Jan 27, 20 10:11 am  · 
 · 
Volunteer

"Space", by definition, is three dimensional. A two dimensional surface has no volume. If they wanted you to make a floorplan they should have said so. Giving you a choice of four words as 'orgazational concepts' with widely different possible meanings is bush. 

Jan 27, 20 6:39 am  · 
1  · 
ediej

true, most of the prompts they give are super broad. I think i am going to draw a parastitic style 'expansion' off of a building. i didnt even think of space saying it was three dimensional, that was dumb of me. thank you!

Jan 27, 20 10:13 am  · 
 · 
Menona