Archinect
anchor

A BA in International Affairs, can I do it?

gisellecoleman-martinez

I’m currently in my last semester of undergrad, and I’m realizing that maybe pursuing a career with the government may not be the right move for me any more. I’ve had internships after internships in international development and. I Just don’t think i can do that for the rest of my life. 

I have a background in art. In high school I took many advanced studio courses, and actively design logos and tattoos freely, and have taken art courses while in college; meaning I have a portfolio built and am very familiar with the world of art. 

I haven’t studied a single thing about architecture, other than the architects I love and their work on my own, and my portfolio is mostly paintings and drawings with mediums that don’t involve architecture really at all. 

I currently have a 3.5 GPA, and am more than willing to put in the work, but I don’t know if I’ll do well given that I’ve been studying foreign affairs and language for the past four years. 

Please advise, I’ll be happy to take any advice from anyone. 

Jan 18, 20 11:49 pm
White_Snowman

What is it that you don't like about International Affairs?

Jan 19, 20 3:48 am  · 
 · 
gisellecoleman-martinez

It’s not that I don’t like international affairs, I just am not happy with working in international affairs for the rest of my life. I enjoy learning about politics and development, and I really believe in governments helping each other out to build up other nations, but I don’t want to work for the government. I also don’t really want to work for the UN, and I’m not sure what other options I really have.

Jan 20, 20 8:37 am  · 
 · 
White_Snowman

I don't know very much about working in architecture, but I would say that before you jump ship to anything else you should really find the why.

Jan 20, 20 6:38 pm  · 
 · 
midlander

whether you'll do well is impossible to say based on the information given.