Archinect
anchor

Portfolio feedback

wallpaper

Hi everyone, I’m applying for the fall 2020 cycle. Yes, I know it is very late. I’ve been working for the past 5 months on this portfolio and I’d appreciate any feedback on it. I just want to see where my portfolio stand this year and how I can improve it for next year if I decide to apply again. 

For some background, I double majored in art history and French literature so I don’t have any background in architecture other than a historical one. I also have an informal background in graphic design so all of these projects were made within the last 5 months.

I will add more drawings and/or replace the ones that I have.

The schools that I’m applying to are considered to be pragmatic so that was the direction I wanted my portfolio to go.

Portfolio here

Thank you :)

Jan 3, 20 2:37 am
∑ π ∓ √ ∞

Without knowing what programs you are applying to, I would have to say this portfolio is lacking in every conceivable way. I would re-consider this effort and start anew. Look at other's portfolios - available just about everywhere - and consider a summer program at Harvard, or something in that realm. 

Jan 3, 20 8:29 am  · 
 · 
placemaker

I think you have some good stuff in here, and the overall design is simple and clean. The biggest issue IMO is how you’re starting each project. I would really recommend having polished finished work precede your process work. If the first thing they see when they open your portfolio is rough process sketches it’s not a good first impression because they don’t know you can do anything else yet.

Keep the process work but put it on page 2. Start with the best images. You generally show good restraint but page 6 is way too crowded. That’s 2 pages of content if you keep it all but I think you could cut some of it.

I like the coffee shop drawing but I don’t think the pagoda one is very strong, so if you’re switching things that’s the one I would drop. 

Where are you applying? Good luck!