Archinect
anchor

Tips for Applying to M. Arch Programs without an Architectural Background

preussarch

Currently in the preclinical research sector with a B.S. in Zoology and looking to change careers. Planning to apply to an M. Arch program in January of 2021. Took a semester of architecture classes 5 years ago (Drawing 101 (A), intro to arch. with some AutoCAD (A), and construction materials (B I think?)) and since then I really haven't done anything relevant to architecture other than sketching house designs and creating them in the Sims (huge hobby of mine). I also recently purchased a DSLR camera, Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom so I have some experience there. Have been fiddling around with the free version of SketchUp a little, too. I guess I'm asking what people in similar situations did to beef up their portfolios/resumes before applying to an M. Arch when they didn't have a degree in design/architecture to begin with. Thanks for the help!  

Dec 28, 19 2:37 pm
Non Sequitur

M.Arch applications from non-arch background folks should not include architecture-related works.  You're just going to look ridiculous.  Your application folio should demonstrate how you can think and solve problems through design... not a collection of shitty SIMs houses or amateur "photography".

Get yourself a good sketch book, some charcoal and conte, and get sketching.  After a few weeks of daily exercises, you'll be able to pick 2 pieces as a foundation...maybe.  

Your portfolio is not a collection of "skills", it's a representation of how you interpret design and your artistic flair. 

Sims? Gosh... I remember those dumpster fire applications from 2002... so many were filled with that.  

Dec 28, 19 2:50 pm  · 
 · 
chuckluck