Archinect
anchor

Help! Should I stay in London or accept my scholarship to go to Sydney?

jayfeathersblue

Hello everyone!

I'm finding myself in a difficult situation and need some professional advice with my decision. I am currently studying first year BA Architecture at the University of Greenwich (as an EU student) and I am very happy with my course, my tutors, I have made good friends and am excited about my current project and I have been appointed Student representative for my year. Everything  is going really well. But now I have received and unconditional offer with a scholarship to cover half my tuition fees (20 000 AU$) to study at the University of Sydney. (I am receiving tuition fee loans in London to cover my 9 000 pound annual fee which I will have to repay eventually...) I have seen that they are doing great in the international ranking, for the course and employability (while my current university does not even show up in the top 100). Now I know that ranking is not everything. But I am also not sure if I can just let an opportunity like this go because I like my current tutors, project and friends - all things that are subject to  change. Also just because I like it so much here does not mean it won't be just as great there and while I have friends here already we have only known each other for a few months, I won't be loosing lifelong friendships... 

Both are possible options for me (financially and visa wise)...

I would appreciate any advice you might have for me, wether you have studied at or graduated from either of those Universities or you can give me advise as to what might be better for my career or maybe I have missed something that might help making my decision? 

Thank you sooo much in advance! 

Have a nice day everyone!

Jay

Dec 17, 19 11:23 am
ArchInterest44