Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Crit

mszczere

Just looking for some unbiased feedback on my portfolio. It is a collection of my academic/personal work from the last few years and does not include any of my professional work. I am a recent graduate and happily employed, though always looking for ways in which I can improve my portfolio in my free time.

Portfolio

Thanks

Dec 2, 19 7:33 am
Non Sequitur

Those CAD drawings need some serious TLC... they are flat and mundane.  No sexy section or technical detail?  What about dirty bar napkin concept sketches?  Anyone can press the render button on Vray and layer PS filters.  That's not what your portfolio should be about.  It should show us how you think and turn design ideas into well-thought out projects.

Dec 2, 19 8:20 am  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

I hate the word "Sexy". So many designers use that term. What the fuck does that word mean? Some of us may be into BILF's (buildings I 'd like to... ) while others into BBB's (big beautiful buildings). So the term "sexy" means absolutely nothing.

Dec 2, 19 8:36 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Settle down grand-pa. It's just a way to say appealing.

Dec 2, 19 8:44 am  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

So happy you think Im a grandpa. Keeps the real me anonymous ;)

Dec 2, 19 9:25 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

So, you're saying I should not go looking for you walking the local mall at 7am?

Dec 2, 19 9:39 am  · 
 · 
threeohdoor

I agree that the CADs could use some work but in general, I like the scheme and the palette. The work is presented in a coherent and consistent style (with the exception of the interior render, which you can tone down a bit to be more in line with the other shots). 

They way you've chosen to present your line drawings is a bit too much "I'm just going to plop my building here on this thick black line". You try to set them up with a site plan or render, but by doing so, you miss the opportunity to express in more detail how your projects hit the ground.