Archinect
anchor

M.Arch Portfolio Crit - Part II

Archlandia

M.Arch Draft Portfolio

So I have a new portfolio iteration for graduate applications and I'm looking for things that can be improved in this portfolio before I click submit in December. 

I don't care for a conversion around which school I'm applying to at this point. Also - I feel like regardless of the school - a portfolio is either successful or not. So, if this isn't successful, what can I do to bring it closer to being successful?

The placeholder text is just that, and not all of the drawings are 100% complete, but this is where I'm at right now. Another thing - my background is in sculpture and undergrad in architecture, so the sculpture aspects of the portfolio are meant to tie in with my personal statement. Should I continue to develop that narrative/connection or toss it?

Any help/advice is greatly appreciated!

**On Issuu it automatically loads as a spread, but this is meant to be viewed page by page. 

Nov 24, 19 3:08 pm
newbie.Phronesis

Hi, not at the Masters stage yet so not sure how valuable my feedback is, but:

Not sure on the quote at beginning, unless it's something you hold integral to your designs and self... Maybe just go straight to the table of contents after the cover, include quote at end?

I like your composition, black background seems unusual. How you gradually brought in colour had a good effect, but the last two pages could be in colour to continue the effect.

Also the way it is now you could easily print it as a two page spread, works well. Hope this helps somewhat at least.

Nov 24, 19 5:27 pm  · 
 · 
Archlandia

Cool thank you so much! Quote isn't helping the narrative so I'll try something else, and I'll look at the color too. I appreciate it

Nov 25, 19 12:09 pm  · 
 · 
Archlandia

they are cheezy, and I don't know why I tried it but I did.. it's deleted now though!

Nov 30, 19 11:42 am  · 
 · 
muji-pen