Archinect
anchor

Preparing for admission to Carleton M. Arch

jean.doucette

So I am a practicing occupational therapist with a B.Sc and M.Sc in O.T. I am planning my application to the 3 year M.Arch at Carleton in 2021. 

I am wondering, in your experience, how rigid is the B+ requirement, quieten which is met, but only just. Do they also take into consideration the nature of the studies (area/grad-undergrad). In your experience. I am also wondering if the portfolio plays a bigger part in the application.  

I would also like to know what the curriculum looks like and if students feel prepared afterwards for their internships. 

Thanks in advance 

J-F 

Nov 21, 19 1:29 pm
Non Sequitur

Former Carleton undergrad here (circa 2007... fuck, now I feel old. thanks)

Anyways, grades are used first to weed out those that just don't make the minimum cut.  If you're above that line, then you should not worry too much.  If there is low applicants for a certain year, they may dip into those on the fence, so a B+ is the gatekeeper. If you meet the minimum grade cut-off limit, then your portfolio and reference letters will hold all the power.  How is your portfolio looking?  What types of pieces/work are you including?  

As for the curriculum, Carleton's M.arch (3y) will balance both technical courses and design courses + professional development courses in the 2nd year. The first year is reserved more for a very thorough and intensive (think full-time job + weekends type commitment) design.  The last year is thesis and more professional development.  This last part can be open-ended and some students extend their thesis work beyond their last term as required.