Archinect
anchor

Another guy asking about architecture school

austananda

So I recently just transitioned into a "jr. draftsman/architect apprentice" position for the construction company I've been working for and have fallen in love with it. I have no degree or previous experience other than a couple AutoCAD classes in high school and at that time I was planning on being a marine biologist so my reasoning behind enrolling in those classes was more for the easy A than a passion for architecture. But now after a few years of manual labor and only about a month on the design side of the company, I want to learn as much as I can about this field and see where it takes me.

I've seen plenty of questions about architecture school but none from somebody in my position as it is a very unique one. I'm 24 and have struggled with mental health issues causing me to have already attended 3 different colleges and drop out of all of them so I'm coming here to look for advice. Is it ridiculous to try and apply to architecture schools now? Will any of them even consider someone with such an unstable (yet stellar) academic history? Are there any online options so I can continue my current job as a supplement to my education?

The rest of the story is too long to explain and not relevant anyway but I really feel as if I've found what I was looking for as far as careers go, I just don't know anything about how to advance within it. I've been reading books on design, watching lectures and youtube videos, etc. and have already learned a lot but my intellectual curiosity has always been insatiable and I want to know I'm learning the right things from the right people. I enjoy the company I'm with now, I just don't think I can get the same quality education from them that I could get from a proper institution so any help/guidance would be greatly appreciated.