Archinect
anchor

Is it possible to break into teaching without an Ivy League degree?

Outsideofspace

Hello Archinect,

I recently graduated with an MArch degree from a mid-tier non-Ivy League school. During the process of applying to MArch programs and completing my program, I had always assumed that I would somehow teach architecture after I graduated. As I was going through the struggle of making it through architecture school, I failed to realize the extent to which I needed to take more proactive steps to make a future teaching career happen while I was in school.

After graduating, I had some conversations with former professors about the realities of teaching and publishing which were really eye-opening, and which I wish that I had initiated years ago.

As far as I can tell, the main options for breaking into teaching architecture at any university (regardless of its reputation) are to either:

• Get a graduate degree from an Ivy League school.
  • Have previous teaching experience.
  • Work at one of two or three starchitects in the world.

Now that I have graduated, those options are all essentially closed to me; I’m in a position where my situation with my tuition debt would likely go from being unusually good (part of the reason why I went to school that I chose) to bad if I tried to get an MArch II degree somewhere else.

Assuming that I could get a starchitect job, I’m not sure if I could handle the kinds of sweatshop working environments which sound (at least according to sensational rumors) as though they are even more demanding than my experiences with school itself were.

Maybe I’m making excuses which are still irrelevant if teaching is what I really want to do, but I’m wondering if there are any other strategies which people in situations like mine have used to get past such barriers to teaching.