Archinect
anchor

How important is the GRE to M Arch Application?

architrekkie

Hello friends. I've been studying for the GRE for a few months now, as most of the programs I'm applying to require it for admission. I'm in a bit of a panic today as I took a practice test and did HORRIBLY. I realize that this is just one component of the application, but I've been under the impression that it is important (especially for someone like me with an unimpressive GPA). I'm wondering if anyone has insight on how heavily the score might weigh on my chance of admission? For reference I'm not applying to any Ivy Leagues...

ETA: I come from a non-Arch background. And I quite need scholarships to get me through school (HA).

Oct 8, 19 4:33 pm
Non Sequitur

Maybe graduate studies are not right for you at this time.  Low GPA + low GRE + questionable financial aid will not work in your favour in architecture school.  

Why are you looking into M.Arch?

Oct 8, 19 4:49 pm  · 
 · 
architrekkie

I work as an architectural drafter, but I am drawn to design. I decided I wanted to be an architect so I am planning to pursue M Arch. My GPA in undergrad was low due to one semester when a friend passed away and in my grief I let my grades slip. I'm hoping to explain that in my application somehow, but also was counting on the GRE to counterbalance my GPA. I will continue to study, and probably start a different study plan now that I feel that what I have been doing is not working. As for finances, I am saving what I can but I don't make much as a drafter so it is tough! I will definitely at least need loans, and I hope to work while in school.

Oct 10, 19 8:39 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat