Archinect
anchor

Siza - NY Tower

Menona

So I'm reading this thing about a new Siza project in NYC.  And they're talking about the cladding:

The developer rejected his (Siza's) proposal for a white marble façade as
expensive and impractical, and instead substituted prefabricated panels with a veneer of sugar-white limestone glued onto an aluminum backing.
“The results are unpredictable. It looks like something new and
brilliant but I am doubtful — no, I am merely ignorant — about how well
it will stand up over time.” Even a man of his experience can still
learn, he tells me, sounding only half convinced. Maybe, he reflects, it
doesn’t matter that much how well a Manhattan high-rise ages, since
it’s not expected to last for centuries."

I'm not experienced enough in this, but this alarms me.  Is this a standard, well worn building product - stone veneer glued to aluminum?  I see it described as "New and Brilliant" - that scares me.  My fear has to do with the thermal expansion and contraction cycles.  Aluminum and Stone have significantly different responses to heat gain/loss and how it effects their expansion and contraction, yes?

Is this going to be another Hancock Tower thing where the facade, or parts of it, starts popping off and crashing down onto the unsuspecting passers-by.  I imagine if the glue is strong enough to maintain the bond, it will crack the stone; if the glue isn't strong enough, then the veneer is going to just peel away in a few years.  Both unenviable situations for the sidewalk and its inhabitants.

Whats' the Temperature delta in NYC  -  110 degrees over the year?

Are my fears sensible or am I overreacting?  Thanks.

Article is on New York magazine website.

Oct 3, 19 10:52 am

1 Featured Comment

All 4 Comments

Practicality is measured by cost, not health and safety. Siza should have rejected the changes and quit if not corrected.

Oct 3, 19 11:11 am  · 
 · 
SneakyPete