Archinect
anchor

Low Gpa to M.Arch Advise

r.m.m.

Hello,

I am a recent graduate in Biology from Occidental College, and I was hoping to learn more about making the transition to a M.Arch. I currently have a 2.5 gpa. My schedule was very loaded with football and work study which was difficult. I understand this is tough, however I am motivated to do what it takes to overcome this. 

I am thinking of taking a semester of courses at a cc (what would be some good courses to take?) before going to LAIAD for a year to develop a portfolio and develop relevant skills. General advise, especially from those who have overcame the same situation as I am in, would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You

Oct 1, 19 10:36 pm
Non Sequitur

Why do you think you're going to succeed in M.arch?  

What do you know about architecture, building design, and the profession in general?

Oct 1, 19 11:24 pm  · 
 · 
ODMA

What did you know before you started? Most people who go into architecture at a young age have nothing more than a 'feeling' that this is what they want to do. Don't overcomplicate it/

Aug 28, 20 6:06 am  · 
1  · 
r.m.m.

I think I am going to succeed because I have faith in myself. I am excited to put in the time to rebuild myself on the road to a M.arch, and the knowledge I will gain. 

I do not know much about architecture, building design, or the profession. But I do know that after visiting a firm yesterday, speaking with the principal, and with his architects, I smiled the whole way home. I saw myself working there, and enjoyed seeing the process and typical day. 

Oct 2, 19 12:30 am  · 
1  · 
r.m.m.

Did something I say upset you? I’m genuinely here with good intentions, and to learn more. It took a lot for me to post this. So, if you have no positivity to bring then please don’t waste your time...

Oct 2, 19 1:24 am  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur