Archinect
anchor

Burn the bridge situation-a recent graduate desperately needs your advice

Kagura

I just started my first job after graduation. It's a part time position at a small firm. I was perfectly happy with this job until...on my very first day, I got two interview invitations from more prestigious offices. Both of them I contacted almost a month ago.

To add to the complication, I was an international student and will need work visa sponsorship next year. Which my current employer won't be able to provide. 

All factors considered, working for either one of the two prestigious offices would greatly further my career. Yet I have agreed to stay in current position for at least 3 months. 

I have not signed any contract or paper with my current employer. but I find it agonizing to even consider breaking my promise and leave so soon. Having that said, I wonder if I really have a choice to give up those opportunities to remain moral.

Thanks for reading, I would like to hear your thoughts.

Sep 28, 19 10:12 am

1 Featured Comment

All 8 Comments

Interviews are not job offers.

Sep 28, 19 10:57 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat

Take the interviews; see what happens.  Otherwise you'll always wonder what if.  If they offer you a job, then deal with that when it comes.

Sep 28, 19 11:28 am  · 
 · 
Featured Comment
midlander

this shouldn't be a matter of burning bridges. any decent boss will recognize that a full time job which sponsors your visa is more important than a part time job that doesn't.

if this isn't a decent boss, to hell with them. work that supports your life is far more important than a fake loyalty to someone who can't help you with important things.

Sep 28, 19 12:39 pm  · 
 · 
Kagura

can't argue with that. Thanks midlander!

Sep 28, 19 7:17 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]

Visa sponsorship, enough said. If either of those two firms make an offer, with a visa sponsorship, take it.

Sep 28, 19 1:03 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous