Archinect
anchor

A Question About LAIAD (and WLAC)

DavidTheLearningArchitect

Hello, so to start this off with a little bit of history I graduated in the summer of 2018 from High School with relatively good grades and a decent enough GPA to get me into any CSU here in CA but not strong enough for any UC's. Another note is, my family has split over the years so I live with my mother and sister now who doesn't even make enough money to pay off our rent and bills in due time. From that I guess you could already gather that I'm not in position to attend some fancy art school to study Architecture or anything design related especially not since most start at a hefty 30k per year price tag (after financial aid). The thing is, I took a gap year and architecture only became an occurring career choice of mine since the invitation I received from an aunt to travel to Europe and spend my gap year exploring new cultures & scenery. It reminded me of my years as a kid when I would passionately build scaffoldings, towers, and bridges using my grandfathers extra wood and metal materials he'd buy from our local general store. Before that trip to nostalgia, I was working my butt off to be a fashion designer during my senior year of HS and to eventually study business at a local Cal State but I found that life to be unnecessary as I was already selling quite well with my clothing line and didn't see the need for a business degree when I've learned so much from books and working as a learning spectator/ride along with my best friend in his successful real estate work... so I cancelled my enrollment entirely and never looked back at that school again - here I am now lol.