Archinect
anchor

Finishing Architecture degree in a year and a half but no more passion. Should I finish it or switch now?

oliviachin

This post is kinda long and i apologize in advance.

So I'm a sem 3 archi student meaning i have 3 semesters left before i graduate. I never really had a deep love for archi, i chose it because my parents didnt agree with me taking animation and because it was related to art imo. And at this semester i finally couldnt take it anymore and asked my parents to let me switch to animation but they kept asking me to finish my degree, saying that even if i dont do architecture after graduating at least i still have a plan b if animation doesnt work out. But the thing is, I'm at the point where whenever i think of the projects i have in the course i get anxious and feel dread, i just really dont want to go through any of that anymore. 

I mean i do consider from their point of view, which is why i am having a dilemma now. If i continue archi, i have a backup plan in the future but i risk damaging my physical and mental health. I already notice that my emotions are becoming unstable after the previous semesters and maybe its getting worse. If i quit and go pursue animation, my future might not be good because animation is not considered a 'professional' career. My parents kept telling me about how the pay might be very low and how am i going to survive in the city and so etc. Plus, people around us kept telling me its a waste 

I kept trying to find any(ANY) remaining passion for architecture to persuade myself maybe i can endure this for another year and a half but i find none. On the other hand,I'm afraid that my parents are right and my future will be bleak if i go into animation.

So, i need your opinions, should i finish ny archi degree and go into animation after i graduate, or just quit now?

Jul 31, 19 12:17 pm
babyarchitect1

Here's my 2 cents: Suck it up and finish the degree.