Archinect
anchor

Sociology and Architecture

Hi all,

Before I get into my situation and drawn out story, here are some of the main questions I have for anyone quickly browsing:

1) Do firms hire/consult with sociologists in regards to their designs?

2) Is there anyone that uses sociological theory in their practice?

3) Any architectural sociologists in the forums that would like to discuss their research?

So those are my basic questions, but really I am in need of some advice as I am in the middle of making a big decision about my education. I apologize for the long message, but I feel its mostly necessary to explain my situation.

I graduated from UNC Wilmington with a BA in Sociology and Criminology in 2014. At the time, I had no idea what I was looking to do with my degree. I didn't have any real research experience, and I was very interested in the sub-fields of micro-sociology, cognitive sociology, and social psychology (in other words, I was more interested in the social aspects of individual human behavior and thinking) which focus more on smaller studies and qualitative research. 

I ended up on a winding life path, interning for an event planning company, then working for a tech start up that dealt with connecting freelance contractors with employers, and then taking a 3 month road trip around the US to try to figure myself out (yes, it was amazing, and what I figured out about myself was that I have too many interests). When I came home, I ended up working at my dad's architecture firm, teaching myself to do 3D renderings for him, but then falling in love with design.