Archinect
anchor

Arch. Technologist - How to fast-track to B.Arch. or M.Arch

stuckinsky

Hi! I'm looking to pursue my studies to either get a Bachelors in Design or ideally go strait to a Masters in Architecture.... I'm wondering what is the most linear way to do it without spending almost a decade in school?

Back story - I have a 3 year diploma in architectural technologies, and have worked for 6 years both as a freelancer and professionally within Ottawa.

Time is ticking and I'm wondering if there are there options to do a 2-3 year bachelors anywhere? Or fast-tracking to a 3 year masters? I looked into the RAIC syllabus, but don't think I'm up for working full-time and continuing education on the side...

What are your experiences / thoughts?

Jul 24, 19 11:11 am
GridBubbles

I would recommend something like BCIT Architectural Science 2 year degree or similar. After completion, apply for M.Arch advanced placement. I finished my Master's in 2 years. 

Jul 24, 19 11:25 am  · 
 · 
stuckinsky

Never knew about BCIT architectural science degree! Quick research says it's a 4 year bachelors... Is there a specific degree for the 2 years? And I assume it's recognized for most masters?

Jul 24, 19 11:37 am  · 
 · 
GridBubbles

Nope, its a 2 year degree. Its only listed as 4 years because it includes the 2 year tech diploma (2 year tech diploma + 2 year bachelor degree = 4 years total). But the actual bachelors portions is 2 year long. If you have a tech background, you could directly apply for the 3rd year entry.

Yes, it is recognized by all Masters. It just depends on how strong your portfolio is because there is still a dogma about tech schools.

Jul 24, 19 1:11 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur