Archinect
anchor

An Associate’s degree or more informal

ACroo99

I have been fascinated by architecture, its history, the math behind it, its form, function, and the creativity of it for as long as I can remember, but always from a distance. I have three degrees, but in history and education. I work in education, and when I taught math I even created an architectural study for my students that addressed the math concepts they were supposed to be learning. I have long since left the classroom and completed a doctorate but I continue to be drawn to architecture. As just a study of architecture, what would an associate’s degree provide me with that a more informal self-directed book study can’t? At this point I am not seeking a career change but I have often thought if I had it all to do a again I should have studied architecture instead. 

Jul 15, 19 6:08 pm
tduds

As far as I know, there's no such thing as an Associate degree in architecture. At that level, the best you're likely to find is a more tech focused program that will teach one to be a drafter. There may be some history programs but I've never heard of one.

Save your money and hit up a library. Or start with a Masterclass or similar online. I think Gehry has one?

Jul 15, 19 6:56 pm  · 
 · 
mespellrong

You could find an associates in interior design, which, at the right institution would give you a glimpse into studio culture. If that doesn't fix your problem ten you may be right that you should have been an architect.

Jul 15, 19 7:49 pm  · 
 · 
atelier nobody