Archinect
anchor

Architectural Association (The AA) First Year Application Tips

sacikel

I am an international student and got in the AA first year this year, and I will start in September. below are some tips for anyone out there who is preparing to the AA. 

But keep in mind that I am just another 18 year old who hasn't studied at the AA yet, so don't take everything I say as true, I may be wrong.

- during the application process the AA staff were incredibly helpful and from the very beginning to the interview day they made sure I could find the answers to my questions -- I think you should trust them because they are the ones who know the school the best. they are also very welcoming so I think calling up and asking them about the procedure is okay.

- one of the qualities of a portfolio I think they appreciate is one that includes a lot of experimentation with different mediums, I did etching and casting in mine which they acknowledged. I don't think they expect you to be an expert at architectural work.. but they definitely will want to see you being able to produce models, in other words handcraft skills, and gather a portfolio that has a flow to it. (sketches, photography, ink drawings, casting, etching, and body paint were some of the mediums I had)