Archinect
anchor

Useful Softwares

somewhat_concerned

Hey everybody--I'm an intern at a design-build firm and they have asked me to research softwares and present my findings.

Problem is, while I do know a handful of softwares fairly well, I want to introduce them to something they may actually USE in the future. (For example, why teach them Rhino when they already have Sketchup?)

What they use: Revit (duh) and Dynamo, Procore, Sketchup, Lumion, InDesign, and Bluebeam.

If you know any softwares that work well with these, let me know! This is a pretty informal assignment, but I would like it to be an interesting exposure to what's out there at the very least. 

Jul 7, 19 1:09 pm
Non Sequitur

MS Paint and CorelDraw are pretty key if you get the autodesk pluggin.

Jul 7, 19 1:38 pm  · 
 · 
somewhat_concerned

Thank you!

Jul 7, 19 5:37 pm  · 
 · 
Almosthip7

I do post production of renderings in Gimpshop

Jul 7, 19 2:38 pm  · 
 · 
somewhat_concerned

Oh interesting I've heard of that--I'll look into it. Thank you!

Jul 7, 19 5:38 pm  · 
 · 
Steeplechase

Just compiling lists of software is a fool’s errand without a more directed purpose.

Jul 7, 19 3:37 pm  · 
 · 
somewhat_concerned

I'm trying to get a feel for what other firms use. Ideally I'm going to look into these suggestions here and from friends/other architects. Then I'll explore one software more thoroughly that looks like it could easily be picked up by people in my firm.

It probably won't--but I think the purpose is just to gain exposure to new softwares rather than actually use them

Jul 7, 19 5:42 pm  · 
 · 
Steeplechase

But “Why?” is still the question you are missing. It doesn’t matter what other firms are using if you don’t know why and if your firm also doesn’t have a good reason to be using it. What are the problems that need to be fixed?

Jul 7, 19 6:21 pm  · 
 · 
poop876

That's actually your job? Jeez. Winrar for sure 

Jul 7, 19 5:10 pm  · 
 · 
somewhat_concerned