Archinect
anchor

Another M.Arch crit post

Archlandia

Hey everyone - I hope to gain some insight on what I can do to improve my application for graduate schools. I’m putting myself in a vulnerable position here and want to place importance on the fact that I’m not looking for pity or handouts. I have been continually bettering myself since undergrad and want to present myself for my potential as a graduate student. I have developed a rough draft portfolio and a rough draft personal statement that I will be submitting for M.Arch programs in late December of this year - for the Fall of 2020 entrance. I have questions about how to approach both, given my circumstances.

I’ll try be short - I went to a state school, Bachelor of Arts in Architecture, and did poorly to say the least. My cumulative GPA is 2.51 and my major GPA is 2.94. I have been working for three years in local firms since graduating and have been developing, also through personal exploration, my intellectual prowess and technical skills during this time. One of my projects in my portfolio is the only project that I haven’t reworked entirely. 

I hate to make excuses, BUT here they are: during undergrad I worked 50 hours +/- a week during nights, and suffered through my parents substance abuse during this time. It was very difficult to stay focused in school. I also thought that I knew better than my professors, which was a product of my immaturity. I do believe that I have become a mature professional through work and gained respect for the fact that there are thousands of individuals out there that have put countless hours into their craft to succeed in academics. I see myself as someone who is now open to learn and progress the field of architecture through passion and rigor.