Archinect
anchor

Feedback on my eligibility

aquilisrose

Hey everyone, I am looking to apply to the fall 2020 intake for an MArch I spot at UBC or UofCalgary (I am Canadian and living in Alberta). My background isn't straight forward so I am just looking for some insights or feedback from those in the professional world about my eligibility or holes I have that I could fill in the meantime as I do have some time before I need to apply.

My experience:

Interior Design Technology - Diploma from NAIT (2010)

Bachelor of Technology in Tech MGMT - Degree from NAIT (2019)

BIM Technician - Certificate from the Digital School Design College (enrolled, 6 month program beginning in two weeks)

GPA: 4.0

GRE: n/a haven't taken

Three academic references secured (fantastic relationship with my teachers., they have promised to provide incredible references to me when I apply this fall/winter)

Professional:

Spent the last 9 years working as an Interior Design Technologist and Project Coordinator (same company).

The BTech degree I focused on Sustainability, Project Management, and Leadership (combining three streams, though the streams are undefined and loose). Besides Project Management, other courses like Innovation (using recent tech), Risk Management, Quality Control, Environmental Impact Assessment.

I enrolled in the BIM certificate to get up to snuff with Revit, AutoCad, etc. and this is a sure fire way to make sure I am current and even advanced in some cases.

I am worried NAIT isn't a major player, a degree with a 4.0 might not hold much weight outside of Alberta. Just looking for some honest/constructive feedback. Thanks!

Jun 11, 19 3:28 pm
Non Sequitur

Architecture grad school applications do not care about your software skills, or even if you can detail a building.  They care that your can demonstrate the ability to think, design, research, etc and it is up to you to demonstrate this in your portfolio.