Archinect
anchor

Ideas for Professional Workshops?

I am an undergraduate student, and the professional chair of my university's chapter of Alpha Rho Chi -- the architecture fraternity. Among the programs and activities that I plan for our student group are firm visits and "professional workshops." 

I have already begun planning for us to visit some architecture firms this upcoming semester, but I'm trying to brainstorm ideas for these professional workshops. In years past, we have done (or tried to do) portfolio workshops and critiques, digital tutorial programs for Adobe Products, Revit, and AutoCAD, technical drawing workshops, and mock interview practice. 

While all of these ideas are great, I would like to think outside the box and plan some new workshops instead of recycling old programs. Some ideas I have are:

1. Business card design workshops -- a quick, easy, and cheap workshop to help students create business cards that are readily available when needed

2. Logo design workshop -- something that we can use to make professional Instagram pages/portfolio covers/etc. 

3. Firm email/call event -- an event where our students will research, send emails, and/or make calls to firms that interest them individually. I just want my peers to push each other and "get out of their comfort zone" while pursuing an internship at a firm. Even if nothing comes from it, the goal is that they become more comfortable emailing and talking to architects and principals of real firms.

So, do you have any advice for other professional programs and workshops? Any feedback on my existing ideas? Thanks a ton!

Jun 10, 19 10:58 am
Witty Banter