Archinect
anchor

Advice for an undergrad

csbscb14

I am currently an undergrad student at Duke university and majoring in art history with a concentration in architecture (requires math, physics, and architectural history classes) — my gpa is a 3.8. Duke does not offer an actual architecture major or many architecture classes so this is a common major for students looking for a career in architecture. I attended an architecture program at Columbia and I plan on interning at a firm in NYC during the next two summers. 

My questions involve the path to becoming an architect. I know a M.Arch is necessary and of course I would like to attend a top graduate school (preferably Columbia or Harvard). Is it recommended to apply to these schools right out of college or should I get a few years of work experience first? Do you think I would be able to get into either of these schools? All advice and recommendations are welcome. Thank you!

May 29, 19 6:10 pm
GridBubbles

I would recommend getting a few years of work experience before committing tens of thousands of dollars on a graduate degree that may end up being useless. Working will help you determine if you like the following: a) the actual profession and responsibilities of an architect, or b) the idea of being an architect. Romanticizing the career of an architect is foolish and sets up unrealistic expectations of reality. Theory and practice are two entirely different beasts.

May 30, 19 1:44 pm  · 
 · 
Volunteer

Transfer to NC State's five-year program now (if you can get in) and save your parents tens (hundreds?) of thousands of dollars in tuition and yourself tons of grief and years wasted. 

May 30, 19 3:12 pm  · 
 · 
thatsthat