Archinect
anchor

Help with fixing the education program in my university

stanislavmilchev

Hello,

I am an architecture student, 2nd year, in UACEG, Bulgaria. UACEG started ~80 years ago and currently the program we are using has barely changed from back then. A small group of us has decided to step up and bring some change to the system however it is pretty hard to find info on what elite architecture universities around the world are doing.

Major issue we identified is the waste of time and motivation. This happens due to the fact that our semester's duration is 16 weeks. During those weeks we have 2-4 design disciplines typically its once a week for each subject for around 3-4 hours. During those hours we are consulting our projects with the assistants. Thats 21 people who have to consult their project for those 3-4 hours. Then you fix whatever you have to and you wait for the next week. This has been a huge waste of time for us and with the time wasted our motivation started fading. Then there comes the other problem of the 4 projects going on at the same time. That becomes a kind of a big issue when you have such gaps between corrections as it feels like everything resets every week and you are getting messed up in all the subject.

We are thinking that such projects would be easily doable in 2-4 weeks time if hours are concentrated and we get to work more with our teachers.

I'd like to ask you, fellow colleagues from around the Globe, what is it like in the university you are attending? What is the program like? How long do you study a semester in weeks and how are the projects distributed? 

May 17, 19 11:57 am
Bloopox