Archinect
anchor

Unsure If I Should Go Into Architecture

Orange016

Hello!

I am a high school student, and figured I should start taking a serious look at careers to pursue. I have always loved building and design. This started from Lego's as a kid, to building houses in Minecraft, to now taking an Architectural Design class in which we are designing homes in CAD in high school.

But, I am unsure if going into architecture is right for me, or even more so if architecture school is right for me. I have done some research and it seems like many schools do not emphasize the building of actual structures, and that it is more of an art school, and the things made often do jot even reflect buildings. I am not saying these things are bad, and in fact I would say they help with creativity, but it is not what I would enjoy. 

That being said, I DO enjoy coming up with creative designs--just mostly on buildings. I don't want to be copying an Architect's plans onto CAD software either, though I really do like CAD. I have looked into careers related to architecture as well such as structural engineering, but I am unsure if that is what fits me, as they do not handle the design of the structure most of the time from what I understand. 

Are there other careers related to architecture I should know about? Are there acreddited schools that deal mostly with design of buildings

Thanks!

May 10, 19 11:58 pm
randomised

CAD  architecture

May 11, 19 5:20 pm  · 
 · 
Orange016

I am aware, but creating original designs in CAD software kind of is in a way

May 11, 19 8:26 pm  · 
 · 
Orange016

Sorry, posted my previous comment before I was done. Sure, CAD is not the same as architecture, but because I am creating unique designs in CAD I am wondering if architecture may be a good path to pursue.

May 11, 19 8:29 pm  · 
 · 
G4tor

If you don't like CADing, then you're probably going to find the first few years of employment after graduation absolutely dreadful. GL OP