Archinect
anchor

Why stay in architecture?

TesseractN

I am a recent architecture graduate. I graduated masters one and a half years ago. I loved studying architecture so I thought It's got to be the only career path for me. I have been working for the same firm during my graduate architecture work experience years. I've been trying to work at other firms but the economy in my country is terrible so recruitment agencies and firms have been telling me there are no job openings for graduate architects since half a year ago.

I HATE working as an architect, it's nothing like school. The pay is terrible. The meanders for a woman of colour is terrible. I have white work colleges who work, straight out of a bachelors degree, and they're put on projects where they are making proposals, meeting clients, running projects. While I, a black woman with 2 years of experience (I spent a year out working, before post grad, and through school) am struggling to get my boss to set me up to meet a single client. I'm basically a draftswoman. I evenhad to fight to go to a site meeting of a project I've drafted from inception. Climbing up the ladder as a black woman seems near to impossible from where I'm.I also have to use Autocad, which i think is an incredibly inefficient program. It's terrible with documentation but I can't suggest anything different because my bosses don't want anything else to be used. I know that there are many old, white haired, professional building consultants who are the same.