Archinect
anchor

To M.Arch or Not?

cted

Hi guys,

(TL;DR at the bottom)

I know this type of thread is super common, but I'd love some input on my situation. So I'm currently a college student at a top 30 university in a major east coast city studying economics. I've always loved design, and in high school I did a summer arch program at SAIC. I did pretty well, and did enjoy it. In HS also, the art and design teachers saw something in me that was unique and encouraged me to follow arch. As high school was finishing up though, reality hit and I did not see myself having a "successful" (i.e. money, lux life) life from getting an arch degree, so I stopped all of that and decided to go into something more stable, economics/business, and then go into consulting, accounting, etc (think Deloitte or KPMG). My parents also kind-of pushed me towards this. Now, more than half way done with my economics degree I'm starting to think that maybe this isnt for me. I'm not the best "fine artist", but I've always had a passion for design and aesthetics, plus I have an analytical mind that thinks spatially so architecture truly was a good fit.

So, my question is..is getting an M.Arch degree worth it? I will not have any debt from college thankfully because of my parents, but any masters degree I get I would have to incur debt. Prior to this I was going to go work in professional business services and then get my MBA at 30, but that's starting to be shaky. I'm taking a printmaking class this summer at my university just to start preparing a portfolio, in case I choose this path.

I'd love to hear experiences of people who started out in something different, and ended up getting a M.Arch. Was it worth it? Would you recommend someone to go down the path of architecture?