Archinect
anchor

Is sciarc worth it?

Yun_bw

Hi everyone,

Currently I’m transferring from a cc to uni for Barch and I want some professional or current student opinion on sci arc and cal poly SLO.

I was accepted by Cal Poly Pomona, Pratt, Woodbury, Cal poly and sciarc, while waiting on USC and Cornell. For now, I narrowed down to SLO and sciarc as they place me third year and both programs are interesting (sciarc a bit more). However, I have read and heard many people saying after graduating from sciarc there will be hard time being employed and upon visiting the school, some work looks somewhat “similar”. So, there are those concern. As for cal poly, it’s more about the area is located and technical style of architecture. 

I would want a school that’s somewhat well rounded with more design focus. Also, that would help me getting into international firms if needed as I’m an international student and there’s a low chances staying in the US. 

Thank you for the feedbacks and opinions. 

Apr 17, 19 12:12 pm
bass assassin

Depends on what you want to do. If you want to practice architecture in anything like the conventional sense, go to SLO. If you want to talk about architecture, pursue academia, or get into animation (and you can pay the hefty surcharge) SCI-Arc is probably the better choice.

With respect to "design focus" it depends on what you mean. At SCI-Arc you will design buildings that don't look like buildings. At SLO you will. Both produce good designers.

Apr 17, 19 8:36 pm  · 
 · 
Yun_bw

In the future, I would still want to have my design or work on the design to be built. As for "design focus", I would say involving conceptual thinking as an way of designing for my projects or for others (somehow like what sci-arc is doing but less avant garde). I'm just concern that after graduating from sci-arc, I will no longer to find the in-between of concept and reality when comes to design.