Archinect
anchor

University Decision Help !! Sci-Arc (M.Arch II) (2 Yrs) VS. Umich ( M.S )( 1 Yr ) VS. UCLA ( M.Arch II )(1 Yr )

Feras91

I'm an international student and I just got accepted to these universities but I'm undecided right now though I am leaning abit toward UCLA, here is what I'm thinking so far :

- A graduate program concentrated in fabrication, robotics and technology which and all above universities have that, besides sci-arch which is a just a regular M.arch II program ( but would be able to take electives ).

- Universities with the best reputation for work opportunities after for my  OPT. 

- Though I would like to work on becoming Accredited architect in US it is not a main priority but would be a plus since I'm planning to go back home eventually. 

-  Is one year be enough time or would a two year program be better in the amount one ? Tuition cost not being a factor as I will be on a scholarship. 

the pros and cons of each university so far :

Sci-Arc 

Pros : In LA, NAAB Accredited for licensure , Great Environment, Professors and reputation.

Cons : Not a University, Program not concentrated on fabrication and technology, Ive heard that it's too theoretical and visual and isn't practical as much when employed.

Umich 

Pros : Very good research university, excellent facilities. Great Global university ranking #20

Cons : Weather in Ann Arbor, Not NAAB Accredited 

UCLA

Pros : Suprastudio looks exciting, professors and facility is excellent, in LA

Cons: Not NAAB Accredited 

I would appreciate any feedback you guys can give me :)

Thank you   

Mar 30, 19 7:18 pm
Tejavu

The program at U-Mich is accredited, as per their website. 

https://taubmancollege.umich.edu/architecture/degrees/master-architecture

Also, check if a one year program is recognised by your home country. Being an Int'l student myself, there are some conditions imposed by my home country if I ever want to get into academics.  

Apr 1, 19 3:09 am  · 
 · 
Feras91