Archinect
anchor

Should I get a BSAT and graduate early or stick it for the 5 year BArch? In both cases I want to go to Graduate school.

Hi all,

I am a second year student at NYIT currently for the B.Arch program. I already have a BA in Sociology and Criminology from a different school (UNCW). Currently I am facing a dilemma. I have come to realize that my main focus in architecture is going to become more theoretical and researched focused, merging the teachings from both of my degrees to eventually perform research on how architecture and design in general shapes and affects our society. I would like to research and also eventually to teach but this does not mean I do not want to design, just that I would like to focus more on public projects where I feel the designs I create can make a difference than on private projects. 

As I go into my 3rd year, I have 2 options both of which end in me going for an M.Arch and hopefully for a PhD. 

Option 1: Because I already have all of my electives and core courses covered by my first degree, I can graduate with a BS in Architectural Technology next year. By most school's standards I would then be able to apply to a 2-3 year M.Arch II program. Thus total time in school is between 5-6 years. 

Option 2: Or I can go for the B.Arch, which will take 5 years regardless of my previous degree because studio classes are sequential, and you can only take one per semester. With this I could go for an M.Arch I program which will only take 1-2 years. Thus total time in school is 6-7 years.

Financially, Option 1 seems to be the better choice. Even 1 year less in school will save me money and get me started earlier in the workforce (I am currently working full time while getting my degree as a 3D Render Artist but also doing general CAD work and helping in some aspects of designs at a firm in NY).