Archinect
anchor

M.Arch Calgary or Carleton

aaaaa19

Hello everyone, I have a Bachelor or Architectural Studies from Carleton

I have been accepted to the 2 year M.Arch at the University of Calgary and Carleton University. I am having trouble deciding where I want to go.

Carleton Pros:
Great financial package including a scholarship and TA position (almost covers the whole tuition)
Familiar with all the great professors that teach there.

Cons: 
Very far away from home (Vancouver) 
I have been living in cold and boring Ottawa for 4 years already.
As much as I love the building, another 2 years in it under constant stress and seeing the same people might make me a bit depressed.

Calgary Pros:
It is a whole new experience, I'd love to move to a new city and experience new things. Could make weekend trips to home. Close to beautiful scenery (I love snowboarding).

Cons:
I am afraid their faculty is not as good as Carleton. At the end, I want to produce the strongest possible portfolio to get a great job after graduating.
No scholarship? (not a big issue, I am lucky enough to get private funding)

Portfolio: in case you are curious (feedback is welcome) 
https://issuu.com/guillermobou...

Mar 23, 19 12:54 pm
Rusty!

Your Curriculum Vitae page looks like a well designed restaurant menu. It's making me hungry. 

I really like your portfolio and I think both Calgary and Carlton options are selling yourself short. Architects are like urban rats. Big ones will be in Toronto, Vancouver, Montreal. I was very dissatisfied with my last 2 years at Waterloo. Just too far from the action of actual practicing architects who can provide advanced lessons. 

That said, academia is a stepping stone that becomes irrelevant deeper you go into your career. Go to Calgary for potential of self discovery alone. No one ever regrets not staying in one place back in their youth. 

Mar 23, 19 1:26 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur