Archinect
anchor

Thesis Project Topic

h.arch

Hi everyone,

I'm doing my thesis project this semester, and I've been having trouble narrowing down my topic. I decided I wanted to work with youth employment, since it is one of the biggest problems faced nowadays. And most youths face unemployment because they lack the education and resources needed to find a job. But, most youths don't have the interest for education, hence training them to gain the skills they need to join the work force is a potential solution.

Mar 17, 19 11:48 am
Non Sequitur

how can you solve this with architecture?

Mar 17, 19 12:31 pm  · 
 · 
h.arch

By providing a space for the youth to gain the skills they require. Like a vocational school, maybe.

Mar 17, 19 12:53 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

So, just a box then. Good idea.

Mar 17, 19 1:01 pm  · 
 · 
archi_dude

Another prime example of how irrelevant architecture school is to professional practice. 

Mar 17, 19 1:06 pm  · 
 · 
h.arch

Okay, thanks for your "help"

Mar 17, 19 1:06 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

There is more help in these replies than in most arch programs. You’re very welcomed.

Mar 17, 19 1:09 pm  · 
 · 
h.arch

You're actually right. I'm having a hard time figuring out how to get to fix the problem with architecture. I should probably change the topic.

Mar 17, 19 1:27 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Yes, or rephrase it in a way that can be solved by design.

Mar 17, 19 2:38 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

This sounds like a thesis for a masters in social work, not architecture. 

What does the architecture of an apprenticeship program look like? What could it look like? What urban planning or spatial layouts could communities implement to support local commerce, and associated jobs across skill ranges? These are issues architects can and should investigate.

Mar 17, 19 3:15 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla