Archinect
anchor

M.Arch at Columbia GSAPP or Pratt

CampariSoda

Heyy everyone,

I am admitted to both Pratt an Columbia for the M.Arch program. Pratt offered me a scholarship and an advanced standing, whereas Columbia offered neither of them. I am in a desperate need of opinions from insiders from those schools.

I studied in Germany and I am actually more into thoroghly thought-out designs and less into (purely) form-based and artistic style in architecture. As of my online research, Columbia matches my interests better. But it will be a huge financial hardship for me to study there. 

So my question is: Is it worth to study at Columbia and venture getting a huge amount of student loan? At Columbia, I have to cover my study expenses for 3 years without any scholarship. On the other hand, I can finish the program in 2 years at Pratt and I will have to pay a fairly less amount of tuition fee thanks to the scholarship Pratt offered.

Mar 16, 19 8:02 pm
archinet

Pfff- was denskt du?? Do your masters in Germany or Switzerland where it is free or waaaay cheaper and the quality of education is the same. Do not go into dept especially considering you can easily avoid it! 

Mar 17, 19 3:27 pm  · 
 · 
autofun

I, too, would love some input on the matter. I am in a similar situation, except for MSAAD at GSAPP and MSArch at Pratt. While Pratt has offered nearly 50% scholarship (on their already lower tuition fee), GSAPP has provided none. Both are year long courses.  

I am actually more into thoroughly thought-out designs and less into (purely) form-based and artistic style in architecture. As of my online research, Columbia matches my interests better. But it will be a huge financial hardship for me to study there. -This is somewhat true for me as well. The issues GSAPP deals with and its studios seem way more exciting to me.

Mar 17, 19 3:29 pm  · 
 · 
workmorelivemore