Archinect
anchor

B.Arch Student Opinions: do you feel like you’re failing?

nicolesierra117

I’m a 1st year B.Arch student at CalPoly and I know that I love architecture. I love what I learn in studio, from the design process, pursuing ideas, and technical skills. However i’m not *good* at architecture. I sacrifice basically everything for studio and i’m an average student; I want to stay here and keep studying but i’m this close to failing out because all my classes have been skating past on C’s so far and GPA is... bad. I improve in school every quarter but I feel it’s not enough, and i’m totally freaking out that I’m not seen as my professors as a talented or dedicated enough student since I swing between staying up til 4/6am a few nights in a row redoing my drawings for a third time, and barely completing work because i’m behind in other classes. I feel that I belong here and architecture is what I’m meant for, but don’t know how to stay in this program and to really accelerate my improvement.

Mar 13, 19 3:18 pm
Non Sequitur

Stop working through-out the nights if you're not getting the results you need.  Prioritize your work and make smart but definitive design decisions early as to not be stuck constantly re-doing everything all the time.  This shit takes time to understand and you're barely ankle deep.

Mar 13, 19 3:55 pm  · 
 · 
Anon_grad2.0

I never once felt like that. Honestly, making good grades isn't that complicated in school. When I was an undergraduate student, I noticed the students who did not make an effort to socialize with classmates (not as in lets go drinking/party, but asking them about their classwork) usually suffered. Studio culture promotes that socializing, use it to your advantage. Just don't rip off other people's work...that's a different topic though 

You are in your first year and are doing "all nighter's"?