Archinect
anchor

TU Delft rejection letter, seeking for feedback for my portfolio

JimYuan

My application was rejected by TU Delft last few days. I would like to have some helpful feedback from you. I really want to improve my portfolio and seek for help.

I graduated from the Department of Civil Engineering at Taiwan. Because I have not undergone any professional architecture training, mostly I learned the skills from online sources. I thought my three works in the portfolio could demonstrate my ability in construction(due to civil engineering background), architecture design and programming skills.

I have seen some post about TU Delft rejection letter on the Archinect, and here is my rejection letter from TU Delft:

Your application has been rejected for the following reason(s):
- The Selection Committee considers the quality of your portfolio insufficient.
- There is not sufficient demonstration in the portfolio of an academic approach to the subject of architecture,
meaning a critical, thoughtful and open attitude to design, and the ability to link conceptual understanding with
practice. There is not sufficient evidence in the portfolio of experience in problem based, solution-oriented and
coherent approaches to the discipline of architecture and to the relationship between research and design. The
portfolio does not demonstrate sufficient knowledge of architectural typology and composition. Basic knowledge of
applied building technology is not clearly demonstrated.

Here is my portfolio:
https://issuu.com/379161/docs/...

Any constructive comment will be helpful.

Though I know it is not easy to switch major, I do really like architecture design, especially digital design, and I will keep seeking any possibility for it.

Feb 19, 19 12:42 pm
TED

Hi JimYaun,